What is a County Commissioner?

Your Three County Commissioners are an Important Part of Your Local Government

Each Indiana county is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of 3 elected persons. The commissioners are elected from separate districts (in which they must reside) but by vote of the county as a whole. The three commissioners are the custodians of the home rule powers of the county. They are the executive body of the county and are responsible for the following:

  • County buildings, lands and property
  • Audits and authorizes claims against the county
  • Receiving bids and authorizing contracts
  • Supervising many County departments
  • Overseeing construction and maintenance of roads and bridges
  • Exercising many of the legislative powers and duties of the county

The structure of county government in Indiana diversifies power among officeholders to create a system of checks and balances. This diversification of power places the ultimate authority in the hands of voters as important positions are elected rather than appointed by other elected officeholders.

Indiana County Government Organization Chart

Indiana County Commissioners are dedicated to providing education, leadership support, and advocacy services for our County Commissioners to to help them better serve their communities and strengthen county voices throughout Indiana.


Download Our Brochure